PRESS

OCTOBER 2001 VEGLAM INTERVIEW
APRIL 2002 DIMITRI MONROE INTERVIEW

LIVE SHOW REVIEWS

IMPACT WEEKLY
DEAD KENNEDYS/MYSTERY ADDICTS
WEDNESDAY, MAY 29 2002
McGUFFY'S HOUSE OF DRAFT

Opening the show was Dayton's own Mystery Addicts. Steven Gullett, Jamy Holliday and the boys were energetic and feeling good from the look and sound of things. The only thing I could possibly ask of them would be to shout "1-2-3-4" once in a while before a couple of songs; otherwise they put on a tight set of great, old-school punk rock. Quick side note: If for some crazy reason you haven't seen this band, do it soon. The Mystery Addicts have tapped into a seriously good musical vein in the past couple of years, and have a great record (Unluck and Shame) on the shelves. If Dayton can't support this band, then maybe we should shut the scene down for a while, like that fountain, and see about repairs.

-DENIS MUTTER

RADIO RADIO REVIEW
MYSTERY ADDICTS
SEPTEMBER 21 2001

"Sound like a Midwest Social Distortion with more attitude."

-BRUCE STUCKEY
TOXIC REASONS

IMPACT WEEKLY
MYSTERY ADDICTS
SATURDAY, MAY 26 2001
CANAL STREET TAVERN

The Mystery Addicts, visually less showy than usual (nobody was in a G-string, fishnets or the like), but Dayton's premier glam-punk band nonetheless rocked the crowd with a perfect mix of eyeliner, sweet and loud guitar work, and hair that simply wouldn't look right on my head. This was the group's CD release party, which couldn't have come at a better time for this band. The Mystery Addicts have pulled things together and sound better than I ever remember.

-XTIAN SPENCER

IMPACT WEEKLY
MYSTERY ADDICTS
SATURDAY, FEB. 3 2001
CANAL STREET TAVERN

Playing with an extremely sick (with the flu) guitarist, Steven Gullett, and drummer, Bryan Labonte, The Mystery Addicts nonetheless kicked some serious musical butt during its performance in front of the most people to grace Canal Street Tavern during this night. Jamy Holliday performed in all his starky glory - the guitarist/vocalist's dry wit and striking stage presence truly set him apart from the pack.


The Mystery Addicts simultaneously update and refine the image of glam rock - while musicians such as David Bowie obviously laid down the pop roots and eccentricity all glam bands must possess, The Addicts have injected a healthy dose of punk rock into the mix to create an aggressive, pop-tinged rock sound. One thing many people fail to realize is how talented Holliday and Gullett are as songwriters, and how skilled at the craft they have become through the years. The Mystery Addicts are sounding better with each year.

- SARA FARR

DAYTON DAILY NEWS
February 14, 1999

"Prime Punk: Canal Street Tavern deserves some serious kudos for the February 5th MONDOLUX / MYSTERY ADDICTS / MINK show it hosted. I haven't seen a show that good in Dayton for a while. In my opinion, those three bands are among the best Dayton has to offer. The look, the sound, the musicianship-it was all there, in its punk-rock glory, for the taking."

- SARA FARR

 



RECORDS & CD REVIEWS

COLUMBUS ALIVE

August 2002

Daytonís own Mystery Addicts support (Cherry 13), a perfect choice given the bandís similar punk penchant. Their latest self-released disc, Unluck And Shame, is comparable in attitude and time-reference, but the glam angle is played up further; listening to tracks like ďBye, ByeĒ and the obviously autobiographical ďDead GlamorousĒ you can almost see the band in outlandish outfits and smeared mascara. The band also channels the sound of the Dead Boys, revealing a love for all things sleazy.

óBrian OíNeill

SONICDIRT
August 2002


The Mystery Addicts album 'Unluck and Shame' is a sleazy punk and Rock n' Roll
newie for all those fans of music with a trashy attitude. All the songs are pretty
simple but effective. The first lot of Tracks 'Flash & Bruise', 'bye-bye' and 'Faster
Disaster', remind me of the English and Europe Glam/Trash scene of the Eighties.
Bands that spring to mind are The Marionettes, Genocides and The London
Cowboys with its slightly off key punchy vocals, which was all part and parcel of the scene then, but this definitely isn't outdated. Having heavier guitars and a slightly
cleaner sound, still with punk attitude in songs like 'Two-Faced self' and 'Stick Up',
what goes around comes around. We had The Dead Boys, Hanoi Rocks, Faster
Pussycat, and now a newer breed, which The Mystery Addicts are most definitely a
part of. Long live the Trash scene and may it go from strength to strength. I just want to dig out the old Cuban heels, my floppy hat, read a Kerrang, which I'm even
remotely interested in and feel sixteen again.

- by Meka
SonicDirt Online

COLUMBUS ALIVE
April 2002

Picking up the trash / glam / punk torch passed from the New York Dolls to Hanoi Rocks to D-Gen to the Trash Brats, the Dayton-based Mystery Addicts are equal parts spit and polish. Singers / guitarists Jamy Holliday and Steven Gullett, drummer Bryan Labonte and bassist Tod Weidner (Paul Bard) perform in a no-bullshit manner from the get-go on their finely crafted disc Unluck and Shame.

Songs like Faster Disaster, Dead Glamorous and Never Gonna Live Forever have more hooks than a prosthetic limb factory. The guitars churn, the vocals snarl and the bass and drums provide the beats that keep these tattooed glam boys in gear throughout the killer slab's 12 cuts. Tight trousers, mascara and Aquanet - the de rigueur uniform for acts like this - fit these lads like a glove.

- Paul Bearer

SLEAZEGRINDER.COM
THE MYSTERY ADDICTS
UNLUCK AND SHAME CD
2002

The Mystery Addicts are like the ragged whores of Ohio punk, pissed on and passed over and traded around for years. That's not at all a condemnation of the band, it's just the miserable truth of it all. But you know, whores look beautiful under the streetlights, and they've always got the best stories to tell. The Addicts are glam punks, but leaning a lot more heavily on the eyeliner than the safety pins, for once. It's kind of difficult to peg influences on these creatures, because the truth is, they're the influences, not the other way around. Doesn't matter, really, if Buckcherry or any other neuvo-sleaze rock band claim the Addicts as inspirations or that they've even heard of them, because these cats were there already, infecting troubled hearts with the black blood of poisoned glitter and drug tongues and the devil's red right hand in a the endless game of dirty rock poker. They've been on the brink of it all, stared blinking into the blank eyes of success and the hungry mouth of failure, and they've jumped in every time, just to see how it feels on the other side. They, like their fellow rock and roll lifers in the Trash Brats, have the uncanny ability to take a genre of music that's known- in fact, thrives- on lying and cheating and stealing and hustling, and turned it into a brutally honest form of tattered, bloody, confessional street poetry. Sonically speaking, you know the drill- New York Dolls, KISS, Iggy, the Dictators- gut punching street swagger and pop hooks smeared with grit. Metaphorically, think the charismatic dreamer that you wish you got to know better before he walked in front of a speeding train. The Mystery Addicts deserve better than they get, man. Slip on 'Unluck and Shame' next time your ready to get real, real gone instead of 'Total 13', and see the difference real bad luck makes.

- Sleazegrinder

CONCRETE WEB
THE MYSTERY ADDICTS
UNLUCK AND SHAME CD
MARCH 2002

There are still plenty of rock’n’roll glam punk bands out on the streets of the USA. A style that was never really popular in Europe since it got confused with the LA glam metal scene too much, even though the Sleaze bands of that time also possessed a punky attitude. As with every scene most bands sound similar and also The mystery addicts haven’t reinvented the wheel, but that is exactly the power behind them. This is high-octane urban street glam punk rawk with a good sound and plenty of tunes to tap your feet to. Party on with great anthems like "Black Strawberry’", "Dead Glamorous" and the more hard rocking sound of "Expire". For those that embrace bands this nature get in contact with these whiskey drenched boys from Dayton Ohio and order this release.

(Trikke)
www.concreteweb.be
Belgium

PUNK PLANET #45
THE MYSTERY ADDICTS
UNLUCK AND SHAME CD
OCTOBER 2001

Picture a smoke-filled bar. You're not the oldest person at a show for a change. In fact, it's a 21 and up show. You feel young despite being in your mid-20's. The bands suck: bad covers, bad metal, and bad hair. You saw the flyer and thought you were going to a punk show. You're starting to feel sick to your stomach. If the next band's more of the same you're out of there. Three guys get on the stage looking sort of like the Trash Brats or maybe the band from the movie The Driller Killer. They plug in and play. And you're blown away. Now, I've never seen The Mystery Addicts, but I bet their shows go something like I just described. They play fiery glam punk, with influences ranging from The Bags on down. A bare bones rock 'n' roll ass shaking from the first track to the last, this fastidiously perfected ROCK. I don't know if they've been a band for long or not, but this is a fine debut. Imagine a glam/fem more rocking version of The Heartdrops. Take me back to Ohio TONIGHT!

-Art Ettinger

TOXIC FLYER FANZINE #33
THE MYSTERY ADDICTS
UNLUCK AND SHAME CD
FEB. 2002

Sleazy glam punk rock n roll outta Ohio that have echoes of the ghost of THE DEAD BOYS haunting the airwaves. Well this is the stuff I love so much these days, but THE MYSTERY ADDICTS who feature a few members who spent time in such punk acts as TOXIC REASONS now kick starting the scene with a sound that screams and shouts with a sound that gives off a BACKYARD BABIES, AEROSMITH, DOLLS, D GENERATION, TRASH BRATS, DIMESTORE HALOES, DEAD BOYS and FASTER PUSSYCAT feel of sleaziness.

But this CD features 12 kicking lipstick and make-up hits that's sure to make a few kids start stealing their girlfriend's make-up and start rockin' out again.

-Billy Whitfield

SONIC IGUANA #6
2001

"THE MYSTERY ADDICTS- Without question, The Sleeziest, Glamrocker Of The Issue. This Dayton, Ohio (Where?!) band might be one of the best kept secrets going. I've met these guys and lemme tell ya, they are bad,bad boys. (Good bad, not evil...) When they're not breaking apart, beating up bass players or in rehab or jail I rank 'em with the Waldo's, Rocket 69, The Dragons and a couple others. "

-JEFF DAHL

THE MUSIC KORNER
THE MYSTERY ADDICTS
UNLUCK AND SHAME

Formed from the ashes of Daytonís Love Lies Bleeding and Haunting Souls (the latter of which included members of Brainiac, The Amps, Guided By Voices, O-Matic and Enon) The Mystery Addicts have followed up a couple of EPís and comp appearances with their first full-lengther. Unluck and Shame contains 12 cuts of ragged, trashy, glam punk that would make the likes of Johnny Thunders, Hanoi Rocks and the New York Dolls proud. In a perfect world tunes like the ultra-catchy "Faster Disaster", "Never Gonna Live Forever" and "Flash N Bruise" would be blasting out of the radio every time you turned it on instead of modern day punk wannabes like Green Day and Blink 182. If you like your punk 70ís style then Unluck and Shame is what you need.

-Geoff Melton
http://members.aol.com/musccorn

THE NUES SUBJEX
THE MYSTERY ADDICTS
UNLUCK AND SHAME CD
OCTOBER 2001


Everybody knows you canít judge a book by itís cover and this record is certainly no exception. With a cheesy looking cover, what with a leopard-print boarder, and a somewhat confusing insert proclaiming the band "a glam punk sonic rock Ďní roll band", I wasnít expecting a great disc. But, my prejudice was rattled as soon at the first track hit my speakers. By far the best track on the record, "Flash Ní Bruise" really raised my eyebrows with a tight intro mixed into a steadily raw energy. The rest of the record follows through with few exceptions, leading to a sound more sophisticated then I would have expected from a self proclaimed glam band. Itís clear, image isnít everything to this band, their sound is just as flashy and a whole lot louder. This is a great sounding disc produced by John Curley (of Afghan Whigs fame) , who even plays some piano on it. Itís got a thick sound and an intensely raw guitar tone that will blow you away. This record takes a sizable step from glam-punk fathers like the New York Dolls, bringing a more dynamic, tighter rock sound that would certainly impress any fan of the genre.

-BRIAN N.t

IMPACT WEEKLY
THE MYSTERY ADDICTS
UNLUCK AND SHAME

SEPTEMBER 27 2001

These guys are punk purists whose music harks back to a time before "punk" was something you could buy at Wal-Mart. Unfortunately, most of the group's previous recordings were muddy and failed to capture any of the band's energy. Unluck and Shame blows those previous demos to shreds, showing that these guys are the real deal.

The drums are loud, the guitars are in your face and the disc flat out rocks. These guys can scream and shout, but they also know when to sneer, like on "Faster Disaster." And "Two-Faced Self" actually features harmonies! It's been a long time coming, but these guys finally have some recordings they can be proud of.

-TONY PETERS

HIT LIST #14
THE MYSTERY ADDICTS
UNLUCK AND SHAME CD
SEPTEMBER/OCTOBER 2001

"Twelve 77 punk / glam tunes, all featuring the proper amounts of slop and trash. This is as solid as it comes. Fans of the TRASH BRATS and DIMESTORE HALOES should especially take note."

-MITCH CARDWELL

VEGLAM
THE MYSTERY ADDICTS
UNLUCK AND SHAME

AUGUST 2001

Oh yes ! This is glam punk at its best. I didn't really know this band before and this CD makes me regret it. There are 12 songs combining the sweat and energy of punk rock with the decadence and attitude of glam. Well, it would be difficult for me to choose some favourite tunes here cause they're all great.

Even the lyrics are good, let me quote : 'Fuck the righteous, fuck the wanna bes, I don't wanna be anybody but me, I can't stand being me, let's offend everyone we see, there's no beauty it's all lies !' Damn !, this is punk !!! There's no doubt, The MYSTERY ADDICTS are a hell of a good band.

- LAURENT

VICIOUS KITTEN
THE MYSTERY ADDICTS
UNLUCK AND SHAME

AUGUST 2001

" ...the new CD, OUTFUCKINGSTANDING!"

-COL GRAY
AUSTRALIA

IMPACT WEEKLY
DESTINATION DAYTON
THE MYSTERY ADDICTS OFFER UP A
"CHARLATAN TICKET TO THE PROMISED LAND"

MAY 24 2001

When I sat down with The Mystery Addicts on a sunny Thursday morning at The Trolley Stop in the Oregon District, it was clear I was talking to a rock 'n' roll band, complete with eyeliner, jangly bracelets and an abundance of ink on their bodies. Though the downtown lunch crowd might have a paused a second or two for a closer look, the group was ready to get down to the business at hand - talking about its five-year evolution and brand-new, full-length CD, Unluck and Shame.

It's been a long time coming. Formed in 1996, The Mystery Addicts had a tumultuous first few years, marked by personnel changes in the position of bass player and personal crises that eventually led to an official disbanding in 1999.

"I think people thought there was all this bad blood when we broke up, but there wasn't," guitarist/singer Jamy Holliday said. "Everybody had personal things going on, and because of that, we weren't really doing what we wanted to do from day one, which was focus a hell of a lot more on playing, and playing well, instead of just playing.

"It's hard to love what you're doing when you're not living up to even 50 percent of what your potential is, really," he concluded with a shrug of his shoulders.

A bad studio-recording experience didn't help matters, either.

Still, there were some good live shows before and during this time in flux, including the group's "official" breakup show - Canal Street Tavern's 1999 Monster Hop. It was probably one of the group's best shows. However, it wasn't enough; soon, singer/guitarist Steven Gullett, who, along with Holliday, fronted the group, departed the Gem City on family business.

During the time apart, Holliday and drummer Bryan LaBonte sporadically worked on new material, but it took Gullett moving back to town and a tragedy to reunite the three. When Cap't Woodycrafter singer Kevion Kelley unexpectedly passed away, The Mystery Addicts were asked to perform at a benefit show held at The Asylum. However, the group was short a bassist. Thanks to original Addicts bassist Eric Purtle, who, by then, had formed rock-powerhouse Mondolux, and longtime Addicts' friend Tod Weidner of Shrug, the position was temporarily filled.

"Because our schedule was light enough, with having both of them able to play pretty much at any given time, one of them could do a show," Holliday said. "Since we weren't (at that point) going out for extended periods of time, and pretty much doing one-off shows, that got us through the hump."

The group was gigging with more frequency, though, and made the decision to hammer out the full-length album. After five years of songwriting, and countless hours spent performing live, the choice was clear _ the songs deserved to be recorded in a facility where the group could finally use to its advantage its power as a live rock 'n' roll band. And so The Mystery Addicts found themselves laying down tracks at UltraSuede Studios in Cincinnati. The resultant CD, Unluck and Shame, was produced and engineered by ex-Afghan Whig/UltraSuede owner John Curley, who also makes a guest appearance on organ on the disc.

"We put a lot more time into (recording) than a lot of bands do," Holliday said. " I think a lot of people would look at us and listen to what we do musically and go, 'Shit, you should be able to bang that out in eight hours,' or something. But for us to get what we actually sound like (live) on tape (is difficult)."

Added Gullett: "We didn't watch the clock this time. We just went ahead and knew we were going to spend a lot of money and try to get something we would be proud of."

It shows.

Unluck and Shame is perhaps the only CD from a local band so far this year to actually successfully capture a group's live sound without sounding like it was recorded on a handheld Walkman. It is clean sounding, but packs powerful punch. Forever described as a glam-rock/punk rock band, The Mystery Addicts prove labels are just that - only words. Combining sing-along melodies and guitar muscle, the Addicts' sound is also defined by LaBonte's drumming. Never underestimate the power of a good drummer; LaBonte not only holds a steady beat, but offers some tasty cymbal work. Who ever said a drummer couldn't be jangly? Check out "Two-Faced Self" if you need proof.

Unluck and Shame's clutch of songs offers a retrospective of the group's existence; one even dates back to 1993, when Holliday was still in Haunting Souls and Gullett was slogging away in Love Lies Bleeding.

Standouts include live-show crowd favorites "Black Strawberry," "Faster Disaster" and "Flash 'n' Bruise" - each sounds like it could easily be the soundtrack to a runaway motorcycle gang. "Stick Up" crackles with punk-rock attitude; "This Town" showcases the cocky swagger Holliday coaxes from his Les Paul. After repeated listens, one thing is clear: It would be distinctly un-American to not like this album, because it has all the things that made great rock in the first place - good songs, an element of danger and a cohesive sound.

"I think we're perceived as a really straight-ahead, simple band. I know we think of ourselves that way, and it takes things like trying to teach our new bass player (Paul Bard, formerly of Francesco Fiore) songs to realize we're not," Holliday commented. "It's like, 'Man, it's just a straight-ahead, three-chord tune,' but the end result is it's really not. That's one of our strong suits - it seems simple."

-Sara Farr

DAYTON DAILY NEWS
Mystery Addicts unleashes Gem City gem
Friday, May 18, 2001

May 26 marks the release of a long-awaited full length CD by one of Dayton's finest bands, the Mystery Addicts. Titled Unluck and Shame, this disc is a crash course in Rock 101. Drawing on influences from some of my faves (such as Hanoi Rocks, New York Dolls, Dog's D'Amour and even the almighty Rolling Stones), Unluck and Shame is destined to be another Dayton gem.

The CD was recorded in Cincinnati's Ultra Suede studios and produced by owner and ex-Afghan Whig member John Curley.

This chick was lucky enough to get her hands on a preview of the CD about a month ago, and I haven't quit listening to it since.

You can check out a preview of the CD on the band's web site at
www.themysteryaddicts.com.

The Mystery Addicts also put on one of the best rock shows here or anywhere. Find out for yourself on May 26, when the band plays a CD-release party at Canal Street Tavern, 308 E. First St.

Doubling the danger and tripling the fun, the Jackalopes will also be on hand.
For more information, call the club at 461-9343.

Shows like this don't happen every weekend, so if you consider yourself a fan of rock 'n' roll at all, then don't miss this show.

- Machel

VICIOUS KITTEN #8

THE MYSTERY ADDICTS e.p. (Beer City) - Over the last couple of years, Beer City have released some of the best punk, hardcore and oi! records going around. The US Bombs, the very rockin' Wanda Chrome & the Leather Pharaohs and Brisbane's own HC kings Disrupt Youth to name a few. You can add the Mystery Addicts to that short list cos if raucous old school punk does it for ya, you are gonna absolutely love these cats! This is raw n primitive sonic glam action played by a bunch o brats who religiously pray to the Dead Boys. "Good Boys Don't Kill" is total Dead Boys charged action, and fuck me if that's not Bator on vocals! Raw, loud 'n' rocking and an absolute scorcher ! "Gimme Life" is faster, in your face damage which rocks in a Sinisters kind of way. "Frankenstein Freak" is again raw and rocking ala the Humpers and best played cranked up. The EP ends with the all out rockin' of "All Tramped Up", full of bitchin' guitar and powerful, hardhitting vocals. This is the shit folks! Can't wait to hear more from this lot. Well worth your hard earned.

-Col Gray
AUSTRALIA

MAXIMUM ROCK N ROLL #181

THE MYSTERY ADDICTS e.p. (Beer City) - This is nothing new, but rockin' nonetheless. In their finer moments, they remind me of the NEW BOMB TURKS. All the ingredients for a spectacular band are here, totally energetic, good tunes, but they didn't sweep me off my feet. More than likely, though, that's because I'm a pile of human garbage, because intellectually, I know that this is a keeper. Fuck my fickle ways, you should check this out.

-JN

MUTANT RENEGADE ZINE #9

THE MYSTERY ADDICTS e.p. (Beer City)- Dayton's kings of beer and adrenaline fueled glam punk, rock out this 4 song 7". Drink, pogo, slam, growl and lose control, but not nessicarily in that order. If you like bands like MC5, New York Dolls, Iggy, Dead Boys, Ramones, then you'll love the Mystery Addicts.

-Grog

http://www.mutant-renegade.com/main.htm

THE DAYTON BUZZ

THE MYSTERY ADDICTS -- Good Boys Don't Kill (7 inch)

Is there any mystery behind these addicts? I do not know that answer, but they sure have a hell of an 7inch,"Good Boys Don't Kill." These glam punkers have really got their oi style and 70's energy down pact. Even though the guitars seemed to be louder than the singer, I still got a sense of what they were singing. Their lyrics probably will not stir any great emotion, but if ya read them you might know more about drugs, good boys, and these glam punkster themselves. All in all, I feel that the record is good, but I'd rather see them live.

- Annie, THE DAYTON BUZZ


Glampunk at its finest. My husband and I used to go to The Mystery Addicts shows at Canal Street when we were living in Dayton. They're very powerful and musically in control. They have a great stage presence which makes them a local favorite in Dayton. So if they ever play in your town, I definitely wouldn't miss it!

- Teri, THE DAYTON BUZZ



ASSORTED OTHER PRESS

CHECKIN' THE CHARTS

AUGUST 2O01

The band keeps an extensive touring schedule so the next time they play Dayton check them out. They are one of the best live bands on the local scene. With the new CD they are getting air-play on WOXY 97X and they are gaining a cult following every city they play

KINKY FAIRY INC.
AUGUST 2O01

You know how dogz always used to look like they just got outta bed with four groupies, drank a bottle of warm JD and then gone " Yeah man lets write some sleazy shit!?"Well, the mystery addicts are the same..I love the vocal...bitterly fucked by booze and cigz. Shades of Tyla.. it's glam but it aint pretty, and while bands like PBF (pretty boy floyd) never had a hair outta place and sang about sunset strip, The Addicts make fucked into cool.

Musically..it's rough in a good way, there are touches of Ramones, a good spit of punk..and a vocal that sounds like Steve Gullet swallowed a handful of cocaine coated razer blades and is coughing up gore..yumm!

DAYTON DAILY NEWS

Opening for the Prissteens are are Dayton's The Mystery Addicts, who bill themselves as "glam punk sonic rock 'n' roll" but who might also be happy to be thought of as one of the best shows in town.

-RON ROLLINS

BURNTOUT RECLUSE

First thing that hits ya is the big, metal crunch of the razor blade guitar sound, but it may be the combination of Jamy's meanass, throaty, whisky-wrecked yowl, reminiscent of Alice Cooper, Steven Tyler, and Steven Miller of Electric Frankenstein; with Steven's studied, reference-heavy, glitter rock poetry that lifts them above this glut of samey, redundant, glam/trash/punk groups who all do a bang-up job of dressing like their idols, but lack their own identity.

The Addicts definitely deserve the kind of exposure and attention being enjoyed by countless lesser bands.These guys are good, solid "punk 'n' roll" somebody should get behind 'em.

- JASON DIMITRI MONROE

DAYTON DAILY NEWS
Mystery Addicts perseveres despite lineup woes
Thursday, November 23, 2000 DAYTON

--You could say they're the band that almost wasn't. But even with the roadblocks that had previously threatened to stop the machine that is the Mystery Addicts, this punk-rock trio continues to push forward. Minus a bass player, that is. Founding member Jamy Holliday tells of the close calls that almost ended it all for the band, but he is quick to point out that this time around there is a greater sense of dedication among the three. And as far as the absentee bass player, Mystery Addicts get by with a little help from some talented and dedicated friends. Eric Purtle, guitarist for the group Mondolux, and Tod Weidner, singer and guitarist for Shrug, share bass duties for the Addicts, who are actively seeking a permanent fourth member. "It actually gets difficult when you know so many musicians and you know how they play, deciding on someone will be tough," Holliday said.

And he should know more than anyone about the pool of local musicians, just coming off a nearly 12-year stint as bar manager at Canal Street Tavern. He ended his job there to put all of his time into the band. "One was always taking second seat. Now I can put 100 percent of myself into it and go for it," he said. That sentiment is shared with the other band members. Vocalist and guitarist Steven Gullett reflects on the breakup of band last year with a hint of amusement at some of events that led up to it. "It was in July of '99 and there was a near-disaster when we went from a four-piece to a three-piece right in the middle of a show," Gullett said.

That October, the Addicts played what was billed as its farewell concert. The group's resurrection came about in part from a request to play at a memorial show for a friend who had passed away. Holliday and Gullett both agree that it played a big part in their getting back together, but wasn't the whole reason. "Everyone who knew us said we'd get back together." With an edgy, hard-core sound (think the Ramones, and you're close), the well-traveled group has stayed busy since August. Away from home, the band plays venues around Detroit and Cleveland.

Drummer Bryan LaBonte said his hard-rock drumming style fits in perfectly with the Mystery Addicts' sound. "I'm AC/DC to their New York Dolls," he said. "But it works. It really works out great." The group's live shows are high on energy and true to its punk roots, with tunes such as Dead Glamorous and All Tramped Up throwing out a '70s New York feel. "So far it's been great. Musically, I don't think the band has been better, and the songwriting has been coming along," Holliday said.

Jennica L. Stout writes about the Dayton-area music scene.

ACTIVEDAYTON.COM
Nick Says Put the fun back into Halloween this weekend
10/31/98

Looking for a good time this Halloween? Try the Annual Monster Hop this Saturday at Canal Street Tavern, hosted by Dayton glam-punk rockers The Mystery Addicts. Joining the rock'n'roll madness are local heavies
Mondolux, led by guitarist Eric Purtle (former Mystery Addicts bassist.)
New York folk rocker Hamell on Trial makes also makes a special appearance at the Monster Hop. Last year songwriter Ed Hamell surprised audience by ripping up the stage with only a guitar and a bunch of great songs - a perfect match for Mondolux and The Mystery Addicts.
The Mystery Addicts, led by Jamy Holliday and Steven Gullett, play a powerful concoction of fast and loud New York punk (like the New York Dolls), mixed with a shot of glam (like Marc Bolan) and a generous dash of rock'n'roll attitude - sort of like if the New York Dolls and Marc Bolan were a strong mixed drink.
Holliday and Gullett's former bands, Haunting Souls and Loves Lies Bleeding, shared similar qualities, but combining the two sounds has created a stronger, tighter with all the energy and catchy tunes, too.
The Mystery Addicts also know how to have a good time. Watch closely and you'll see
them smiling while they shout out the sing-along chorus of "You're a Crime." This Halloween those tunes might be the last ones you ever hear -- although the Mystery Addicts won't cause you to lose your hearing, they're always willing to give it a try.

-Nicholas C. Kizirnis

THE DAYTON VOICE
October 30 - November 5, 1997
“MONSTER HOP WITH THE MYSTERY ADDICTS”


When the Mystery Addicts take the Canal Street Tavern stage this Friday, for the annual Monster Hop, it will mark the one-year anniversary for the local punk rock quartet. Last year, without even a name, Jamy Holliday (splintered NY punk vox, low slung Gibsons and liquor sponge), Steven Gullett (wrecked voice, pawn shop guitar and exile behavior), Eric Purtle (thunderpunk bass, loud wisdom and master of beers) and Brian Labonte (rock’n’roll drums, too much drinking and porno offerings) unveiled their new venture.
Holliday and Gullett, both living down the recent demise of their bands
Haunting Souls and Love Lies Bleeding, respectively, decided to get together and try something a little different. The duo combined the mid-’70s punk vibe of Haunting Souls with a dash of the glam rock favored by L.L.B. to create a punk rock sound that has nothing to do with the likes of Green Day, MXPX or Bad Religion.
(edit)
“I wasn’t having fun in Haunting Souls for like three years,” Holliday says. “I started stagnating. I would say, ‘I’m gonna do something different..., I’ll do it tomorrow.’ With the Mystery Addicts it’s fun. I enjoy playing with Steven and the rest of the guys. I like the combination of me and Steven together. It’s no re-invention, but it works together. It’s a real trade off.”
“One person doesn’t have to carry the show,” Gullett says. “I look over and see two guys going nuts and that gets me going. I think we all push each other.”
(edit)
“It’s been a bad year around town,” Gullett says,”with bands shifting and clubs closing. There just aren’t many places to play.”
“Yeah, but I think this year of festering is over,” Holliday interjects. “It’s time. The musical climate around here is not necessarily that great right now, but we’re ready.”
(edit)

-Don Thrasher


home | pictures | lyrics | discography | sounds | flyer art | press | history | links